FFTW Amplitude and Frequency

Hi,
I am a C-Sharp developer and a beginner at C++.

I am using C++ to get learn about FFTW but unfortunately I haven’t been able to find any examples of FFTW usage that I understand. The sort of thing that makes the lightbulb go on in my head.

I was hoping that someone here might be able to help me understand how to do something that I believe should be quite simple with FFTW.

I have an one dimensional array of double values and I want to find two lots of information from it. One is the cycle amplitude and the other is the cycle frequency.

I have searched this site but I haven’t been able to find anything that fits. I am not an electronics engineer so a lot of what I read on FFTW.org goes over my head a bit.

I should also say that I am reading the values into the array from a text file one line at a time and adding the contents to the array then I am writing the calculated values to another text file like follows. Input value, Frequency, Amplitude.

writing the
Any help would be greatly appreciated

Regards,

John
Last edited on
std::vector<double> in(n); //your data in time domeain (note, real)
std::vector<std::complex<double> > out(n/2+1); //its fourtier transform (note, complex)

fftw_plan p = fftw_plan_dft_r2c_1d( //this would be like a constructor
	in.size(),
	in.data(),
	reinterpret_cast<fftw_complex*>(out.data()), //fftw3 uses its own data type, need to cast
	FFTW_ESTIMATE
);

//read the data from file
//don't exceed the size, as that would need a reallocation
//according to the docs «You must create the plan before initializing the input»
//may use an temporary instead
/*read(foo)
in.resize(foo.size());
fftw_plan p(...)
in = foo*/

fftw_execute(p); //performs the fourier transform, fills `out'

//operate on the fourier transform
for(int K=1; K<out.size(); ++K){ //starts in 1 to ignore DC
	if(std::abs(out[K]) > threshold)
		std::cout << "Frequency " << K*delta_f << " Amplitude " << 2*std::abs(out[x])/in.size() << '\n';
}