Mutable and Immutable

I am a beginner in C++ as well as Python. I am having a hard time understanding mutable and immutable objects in Python. According to the information a gathered from sources, immutable objects in Python such as int, float, and string, can't be modified once instantiated.

>>> number = 0  
>>> for i in range(5):
	print(number,id(number))  # This code indicates the id of number changes
	number += 1                     # as number is reassigned. Essentially, this is 

0 505910848                       # saying that each integer in Python has a
1 505910864                       # unique address and an id associated with it. 
2 505910880                       # So when number is reassigned. It points to
3 505910896                       # a different location in memory.
4 505910912

>>> my_string = "Hello"
>>> for i in range(5):
	print("{}, {}".format(my_string,id(my_string)))
	my_string += "1"

Hello, 49097568                   # The string class in Python is not mutable,
Hello1, 48989152                  # but according to the this code the string
Hello11, 48989152                 # "Hello1" and "Hello11" share the same id.
Hello111, 49109216                # How could this be?
Hello1111, 49109216

In C++, is it safe to say that all object are mutable? Because once an object is
declared and associated with a variable, the address of that object doesn't change even though the content of the object is modified.
Last edited on
no, you should read this:

https://www.geeksforgeeks.org/c-mutable-keyword/

c++ does let you change the address of things. It depends on what exactly you are doing. For example, read up on iterator invalidation in containers ... the container can drop and get different blocks of internal memory, breaking any old pointers... and you can do that yourself if you want to use pointers...
Last edited on
> In C++, is it safe to say that all object are mutable?