Stuck on a 0.

So, I'm kinda new to this and i took an extra course in my school to learn programming. Got this task and i tried to write a program to count it, but it keeps telling that the answer is 0.So the task is: on the first day it snowed s millimeters of snow, then the next day it snowed m millimeters more, count how many days (or d) does it take to reach n millimeters(all sizes are natural). if s=17, m=3, n=65, then d=4;
So i wrote this, but it keeps spewing out that d=0. Can anyone tell me where is the problem here ?
#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <cmath>
#include <iomanip>

using namespace std;
int main()
{
int s, m, d=0, n;
cout <<"s: ";cin >> s;
cout <<"m:";cin >> m;
cout <<"n:";cin >> n;
while (s>=n){
d++;
s+=m;
n-=s;
}
cout<<"d:"<< d << endl;
return 0;
}
while (s>=n)

s is 17.
n is 65.
is 17 > = 65?

nope.
does it enter the while loop at all?
nope.
it writes out 0, correctly, as that is d's value!
Last edited on
Just focusing on the code: s = 17, m = 3, n = 65.
Your while loop's condition for looping is "s >= n". 17 is not greater or equal to 65, so the while loop is never entered. Thus, d stays as 0.

Perhaps you meant while s <= n?

(Edit: ninja'd by jonnin :p)
Last edited on
use this: [*code] put your code here [*/code] . without the ' * '.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <cmath>
#include <iomanip>

using namespace std;
int main()
{
	double s, m, d = 0, n, avg;
	cout << "Enter the first amount (S)\n";
	cin >> s;
	cout << "Enter the secound amount (M)\n";
	cin >> m;
	cout << "Enter the  amount you want to calcualte for (N)\n";
	cin >> n;
	//Ithink its better if u find the average in the first 2 days and then try to find how much it needs more to reach d
	avg = s + m / 2.0;
	d = n / avg;
	cout << "d:" << d << endl;
	system("pause");//theis would pause the screen after u get the output
	return 0;
}

I think this is the true way to use it . doubles instead of int , and using the average .
am learning just like you.