MS Vis Studio "not a type"..??? error

Pages: 12
I am new to using MS VS 2015 - which I acquired for getting into my C++ studies and training at the moment. Long story short==> I made a simple class in a header and defined some very simple constructors as well as some "get" functions to return private member data and a helper function.

I haven't used VS 2015 at all before so I am not sure what I am doing wrong as a warning to all reading this!

I have created a namespace for the class inside the header file that defined the class and I have this namespace inside the definition source code as well (I am following a book example BTW) and I have NO ERRORS in either the header file or the source code definitions file.

However in the MAIN routine source file is where things get odd (even though I have included the header file for the class definition in the main source file.)

I instantiated an object of my class (see code snippet below)==>

My_Class my_class_obj{ //some stuff for the overloaded constructor } 

and I get an error from the compiler saying that the "My_class" identifier used to identify the new object's type is NOT a type! I sure as heck thought it was since that is the idea behind a user defined type??

So I am figuring (correctly?) that there is a minor or possibly a major problem going on here with my ignorance regarding what VisStudio expects or needs to instantiate a newly designed class object.

Any Ideas out there VS users? You probably will think this is trivial (and it probably is) but for someone new to the VS IDE..... not sure what is going on here.

Xanadu

Is it "My_Class" (your code) or "My_class" (your quote)? C++ is case sensitive after all.

If that isn't the issue, then post your code so we can see, otherwise I think we'd just be guessing as to what the exact issue is.
VS 2015 might not support using {} for initialization. Try using My_Class my_class_obj(/*params*/);