Accepting Hyphens in String

Hello,

I'm a student just beginning to learn C++. My current task is to write code which will accept a user's first, middle, and last names, as well as various other bits of info which do not pertain to my current question.

For the first name, the requirement is that the user's input will only be accepted when it's at least 2 and not more than 10 characters, the first letter must be capitalized, the only symbol accepted must be a hyphen and if they input a hyphen then the very next character must be a capital letter as well. Every other character must be lowercase. I'm having trouble knowing how exactly to accept hyphens and no other symbols, as well as only accepting 1 capital after the hyphen.

I made a function which will accept the first name string and return a true/false value depending on the user's input. Here is what I have so far:

bool fName(std::string firstName)
{
     bool success;
     if(firstName.length() >= 2 && firstName.length() <= 10 && isupper(firstName[0]))
     {
          success = true;
     }
     else
     {
          success = false;
     }

return success;
}

I am stuck as to how to complete the rest of my requirements for the first name. Maybe a for loop that will count its way through the other characters to check if they're lowercase? However, this method wouldn't be useful for accepting the hyphen + uppercase case.

Any help is much appreciated!
Last edited on
if firstName[K] == '-' and is_uppercase(firstName[K+1])
   //valid, next to check K += 2
else if is_lowercase(firstName[K])
   //valid, next to check K += 1
else
   //invalid
   return false
The C library has several character handling routines that could used for exclude non-alphabetic characters in your string, as well as determining if the character is a '-' or not.

http://www.cplusplus.com/reference/cctype/

<cctype> also has functions to convert letters to upper or lower case.