.cpp files and header files

hi
i am new to C++ and i am still wrapping my head around the basics.
i have learnt about headers and cpp files but im not sure about the proper use.

am i supposed to use cpp files to store all my functions? and header files to forward declare functions and constants?

and i assume the general concept is to keep functions of similar category in the same file?

im just looking for an idea of the typical usage of them. i am writing a game and things are getting very cluttered, so i think its time to tidy up my code.

thanks
Header files are for those things that other source files will need, at compile-time to have in order to use the functions and classes you want them to use. Typically, that will be class definitions, function declarations, and constant definitions.

The source files should contain everything else - which includes the actual definition of functions/methods. These things are not needed by other files at compile-time, only when linking.

As for how you organize your source code into different files, that's very much a matter of taste. What works best for you?
thanks for the reply.
i think i was over thinking it :) that makes more sense now. thanks
just been working on my project and it made more related questions pop into my head.

would you typically see no function definitions etc in the main .cpp file?
so, would you keep all functions etc in a separate file from the "int main()" function?

also, would you define variables in a header file? or keep them in the main.cpp?

thanks
Last edited on
it depends on the scope of the project.