Could this be considered a bst?

Hi, more studying. Is this a basic binary search tree?

Thank you.

#include <iostream>
#include <map>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main(){

//Stack <class<t> > 
    // space

map<string, string> PhoneBook;
    PhoneBook["Sally Q"] = "333-3333";
    PhoneBook["Rusty K"] = "555-5555";

cout << PhoneBook["Rusty K"] << endl;

for (std::map<string, string>::iterator it = PhoneBook.begin(); it != PhoneBook.end(); it++){
        cout << it -> first << " " << it -> second << endl;
    } 

}

Pardon that crazy for loop.
Last edited on
Yes*

Remember the discussion we had yesterday?
I do!
haha

That's what led me to making my first bst!

Just wanted to verify that I was understanding y'all correctly.

Thank you!
there is probably a hidden tree in there. I would not consider it one: its a map. The fact that it has a tree hidden under there is a useful footnote.. now you know why maps are not ~O(1) (which I had expected when I studied them) and that it will be slow. You can't get to the tree. You can't traverse it. Its fully hidden. you can't use it as a BST object. At best you can get a small part of a tree in hand by exploiting what you know.
Is there any way to turn that code into what you'd say was a BST with a best case scenario O(1) complexity?

It already is... if you ask for the root, it will be O(1) best case, but the average case remains N*lg(N).

There is no way to make that what I would call a BST. Its a map implemented with a BST.

Lets take a side branch... Have you actually studied a BST? Coded one with something like
struct node
{
   type data;
   node* left;
   node * right;
}

^^ That is the core of a binary tree. If you sort it by data as you insert it, it will be a BST (a search tree is defined by being sorted so that you choose left/right and discard half the data each time you follow a pointer).