Properly Exporting Programs

I have been writing C++ for about 3 months now and I want to export my projects to another computer, however every time I do, the program is missing .dll files. After doing lots of research I came to the conclusion that I need to build a "Release Build" However, all of the articles I found are out of date and do not pertain to the latest version of my IDE or compiler

IDE is Visual Studio and Compiler is MinGW-w64
Hi again, if you're using the same version I used in the last thread, apparently it doesn't link libgcc statically by default. If you link dynamically, you'll need to provide the DLLs that it asks for and put them in the same folder as your .exe when you give it to another person. (The DLLs are most likely in your mingw bin folder, or somewhere around there).

However, to avoid this, you can also statically link libgcc.
You may need to add these three flags to the beginning of g++:
-static -static-libgcc -static-libstdc++

Apparently there are some potential pitfalls with statically linking, though I'm not very knowledgeable of the details, see: https://stackoverflow.com/questions/18138635/mingw-exe-requires-a-few-gcc-dlls-regardless-of-the-code

(If you already use Visual Studio, it is probably easier to just build using VS's C++ compiler, but up to you)
Last edited on
MinGW-w64 compiles your program with the assumption that you are going to use it on a computer where (I believe three) specific DLL's are available. By making this assumption they can create a smaller executable, which saves you disk space if you have many programs on your system.
Other compilers may have chosen differently. The TDM compiler for example creates an executable that can run without any DLL's. This is possible because they included the code that is in the DLL's in the executable. As a result the executables they generate will be larger files.