inf result to calculate standard deviation

"Write a program that takes its input from a file of numbers of type double. The program outputs to the screen the average and the standard deviation of the numbers in the file."

I'm a beginner when it comes to programming. Below is my code for the above question; when I execute it then I get the result "inf", instead of the standard deviation.

My input file, numbers.dat, contains the following information:

n1 = 45.6
n2 = 60.9
n3 = 78.7
n4 = 15.1

And outputs:

The average of all the numbers in numbers.date is: inf

PLEASE HELP.

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>
#include <cmath>

int main()
{
using namespace std;
ifstream in_stream;
ofstream out_stream;
out_stream.setf(ios::fixed);

double n1, n2, n3, n4, sum = (n1 + n2 + n3 + n4), total = 4;
in_stream >> n1 >> n2 >> n3 >> n4 >> sum >> total;
out_stream << "The average of all the numbers in numbers.dat is: "<< (sum / total);
in_stream.close( );
out_stream.close( );
return (0);

double average = (sum / total);
in_stream >> average;
out_stream << "The distance of n1 in numbers.dat file is: "<< pow(n1 - average, 2);
out_stream << "The distance of n2 in numbers.dat file is: "<< pow(n2 - average, 2);
out_stream << "The distance of n3 in numbers.dat file is: "<< pow(n3 - average, 2);
out_stream << "The distance of n4 in numbers.dat file is: "<< pow(n4 - average, 2);

double sumDist = pow(n1 - average, 2) + pow(n2 - average, 2) + pow(n3 - average, 2) + pow(n4 - average, 2);
in_stream >> sumDist;
out_stream << "The sum of all the data points in numbers.dat file is: "<< sumDist;

double stdDev = sqrt(pow(sumDist, 2)/total);
in_stream >> stdDev;
out_stream << "The standard deviation of all the numbers in numbers.dat is: "<< stdDev;

in_stream.close( );
out_stream.close( );
}
Last edited on
double n1, n2, n3, n4, sum = (n1 + n2 + n3 + n4),