Write on file

Pages: 12
HI,
I'm new with c++, I create a file with different name every x time, the first time the file is correct, other times is empty...
Where's the issue?

#include <chrono>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main()
{
    int i, l = 0;
    int iNum = 0;

long microseconds;
    std::string name = "";

name = "ciclocpp" + std::to_string(iNum) + ".txt";

ofstream fout(name);

for (int k = 0; k < 1000000; k++)
    {
        if (k > 0 &&  (k % 100000) == 0)
        {
            fout.close();
            iNum++;
            name = "ciclocpp" + std::to_string(iNum) + ".txt";
            ofstream fout(name);
        }

auto start = std::chrono::high_resolution_clock::now();

for (i = 0; i < 50000; i++)
        {
            l += i;
            if ((l % 4) == 0)
                l = l >> 1;
        }
        auto elapsed = std::chrono::high_resolution_clock::now() - start;

microseconds = std::chrono::duration_cast<std::chrono::microseconds>(elapsed).count();

fout << microseconds << "\n";
    }

fout.close();
}
The fout on line 26 isn't the same as the fout on line 17.

Maybe
fout.open(name);
Hello brogh,

you wrote:

I create a file with different name every x time,

So what value to you give to "x"?

The condition of the if statement on line 21 will never be true, so you are always writing to the same file.

You may want to take some time to understand how %, (mod), works. zero (0 % 1000000) will return the value of (0) zero and (1000000 % 1000000) will return (0) zero, but 1 - 999999 will return those numbers.

As I understand the code line 26 should be a different file name than line 17, but you never enter the if statement to create a different file name, so you are always writing to the same file.

When it comes to variable names try to avoid using a single letter name especially the lower case "L" and the capital "O". the "l" in some fonts can easily be mistaken as the number 1 and the "O" for the number zero.