Calculator. How to fix if user types letters isto numbers

Pages: 12
Hi, Im trying to learn som C++
Im trying to make a calcylator.
If the user types ex (nr1/n2) 2/b it crashes.
How do I define nr1 nr2 to only digits?

Oh, does anyone understand my dilema?

Pls help

Note that Im a complete noob. tried som Basic in the eighties but not much.

using namespace std;
#include <iostream>

float main()
{
float nr1, nr2; //skapar variabler, alltså tal 1 och tal 2//
cout << "write two numbers\n";
//Här får användaren skriva in sina siffror//
cin >> nr1;
cin >> nr2;

//Själva uträkningarna//
float summa = nr1 + nr2;
cout << "Addition" << endl << nr1 << "+ " << nr2 << " =" << summa << endl;

float diff= nr1 - nr2;
cout << "Subtraktion" << endl << nr1 << "- " << nr2 << " =" << diff << endl;

float produkt = nr1 * nr2;
cout << "Multiplikation"<<endl << nr1 << "* " << nr2 << " =" << produkt << endl;

float kvot = nr1 / nr2;
if (nr2 == 0) // Om siffra 2 är noll går det ju inte att dividera//
cout << "Division"<< endl << "går inte att dividera med noll, starta om och skriv in en annan siffra";
// så därför får användaren starta om igen//

//Om det går att dividera så skrivs denna rad ut//
else
cout << "Division"<< endl << nr1 << "/ " << nr2 << " =" << kvot << endl;

cout <<endl<< "press Enter to exit";
system("pause>0");
}
Last edited on
Hi, we would love to help you with your calcylator. Show us the code that is causing the issue, and tell us specifically examples of input that should fail, and examples of input that should succeed.
I have added it into the topic now