Disappointed

Pages: 123
I am greatly disappointed with Visual Studio and C++. 25 years ago I took a course in college and didn't not have the kinds of problems I am having now. With Visual Studio everything I do comes up with errors. It is aggravating.
I have learned PHP from books, and had very few problems with it. Why is it so difficult to learn C++.
By the way I tried to learn Python and gave up because there was formatting and no one said anything about it so I dropped learning Python.
Is my problem with the code the ide or something else?

I also went to the website someone suggested and even there there is problems with the code.
Last edited on
Hello mathman54,

I have been using VS2015 and VS2017 for about 6 years without any real problems. Part is learning C++, including the formatting parts, and learning VS.

It is easy to say that you are disappointed and having problems, but show some code that you are having problems with.

There is a good chance that the problems lies in your code not the IDE.

With any language learning the syntax and how the language needs to be formatted is the first step.

Start with posting the offending code and the complete error message(s) the IDE generates.

After it could possibly something in the installation of the IDE.

Andy
What resources are you learning from? I ask, because if your having issues in Visual Studio AND on those online compile-and-run websites, chances are the real issue lies with one of the following:

* The resources you're learning from, OR
* You have a tendency to try and rush things, basically throwing yourself at a wall.

Given https://cplusplus.com/forum/beginner/273506/ I'm inclined to think it's the latter, but it could be that you're not learning from a well-designed textbook/tutorial/etc and are trying to do things despite not knowing how to do them correctly. Programming in general is not friendly to that approach. Hence why I ask.