need help with an assignment for my class

I am new to C++ and need help with a assignment.

Create an interactive fiction story application in C++
You will get to try out your requirements gathering, and design skills. Here is a valuable link to understand interactive fiction from a user perspective. It is important to try to pick a category and try a few of the interactive fiction games at this link to understand the requirements for this assignment. This is an Interactive Fiction assignment, not an adlib assignment. Up until now, we have not done anything like and Interactive Fiction Assignment. Try out several interactive fiction simulations below and have fun!

http://textadventures.co.uk/

Assignment Objectives:
Create an Interactive Fiction game.
Create a C++ program that uses more than one function.
Control all your functions through the main function.
Pass and return parameters to your functions.
Your program must do something and be an interactive fiction game, it must not just demo functions.
Have fun!
Pro Tips
Read Chapter 5 in your text on functions.
Study the Interactive Fiction Modules in this week's modules.
Come to class as we will be going over the skills you will need to complete this assignment.
Put a lot into this assignment, the more functions you write on this assignment, the less code you will have to write on the final project.
Requirements
Create a new console project.
Create an Interactive Fiction game with a great user experience.
Your program must do something and be an interactive fiction game or simulation, it must not just demo functions.
Add at least one function that takes a string or an int.
Add at least one function that returns a string or an int.
Add at least 5 functions overall in addition to main.
Your main function should control all the other functions.
Over comment your source code file (.CPP).
Take a screenshot of the program working.