Help with video rental program using linked lists and arrays

Hi, I am trying to program a video rental checkout that reads in a file of given movies that the user can then search.

**I am not able to use anything outside the C++ standard library.**

I was thinking of reading in the file and creating a Node for each movie entry. I am trying to make it searchable by date of release, director, actors as well as obviously the title, and I was thinking a good way to do this would be by storing the searchable values in separate arrays that, when the user searches something like "Kristen Stewart" it can search through the "actors" array and find all titles corresponding to the actor. My trouble is more conceptual right now, as I'm pretty new to C++.

How could I get the values in the array to point to the correct Node if I went this route?

edit: extra clarification

**we can only use these key-words/includes/directives: class, public, private, new, delete, if, else, switch, case, for, do, while, break, continue, return, true, false, void, int, long, char, float, double, bool, use, namespace, <iostream>, <ifstream>, <string>, <string.h>, #ifndef, #endif, #define, #include.**
Last edited on
This isn't that much different than the Phonebook issue you had. You had some data in a file, and you need to store it in the memory of the program, but this time in order to query it. You could use a similar approach here.

storing the searchable values in separate arrays that
You could do this. It isn't wrong. Separate arrays, often called "structure of arrays" (SOA), may be warranted depending on the types of data you're dealing (may help with cache locality), but since you're just a beginner, I think a simple "array of structures" is easier here.

You'd have your Movie struct:
struct Movie {
    string release_date;
    string director;
    string title;
    string actors;
};

Then, you can have an array with some max size, or vector (dynamic array) of Movie objects.