Starting graphic games

Pages: 12
Hello, It's a long time that I wanted to start off a graphic game in c++ and I would like to know the basics of graphic games. I want to make a simple game where there is the player that goes around in the map, to begin. Can anyone tell me how to do it or just giving me advice? How do I put images and stuff, thanks in advance.

( I started programming in c++ by doing text-based RPGs and then i passed to other programs and stuff, my last "creation" was a card game. )
Get some type of GUI toolkit or something to help with this:

Allegro http://www.talula.demon.co.uk/allegro/ , wxWidgets http://www.wxwidgets.org/ , FLTK http://www.fltk.org/, QT http://qt.nokia.com/ .. and many more:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_widget_toolkits#Based_on_C_or_C.2B.2B_.28including_bindings_to_other_languages.29

Play around with a few of them until you find one that suits your needs.
I wouldn't use a GUI toolkit to make a game. Use a proper graphics library. SFML is the most recommended around these parts.
Use allegro it ridiculously easy. heres a link to some tutorials:

http://www.loomsoft.net/resources/alltut/alltut_index.htm
Alex cpp... based on your post history it seems you are VERY new to c++ and have not touched pointers, classes and many of the more important features. If this is true, you will have great difficulty trying to work with a graphics API at this point. You should continue studying the language. If you insist however, google SDL and SFML. Allegro isn't a bad API, but it is less popular.
Alex cpp... based on your post history it seems you are VERY new to c++ and have not touched pointers, classes and many of the more important features. If this is true, you will have great difficulty trying to work with a graphics API at this point

I disagree.

Using SFML isn't any harder than using iostream, it's just different.