Which book should I read for a total beginner?

Pages: 12
I'm gonna start my video game development degree in 2 months, and I got hold a few C++ books to read to prepare myself for the degree. Which book you guys think is best for my degree? I got C++ through game programming by Michael Dawson, C++.com's very own tutorial, and C++ a beginner's guide by Herbert Schildt. Or you guys can suggest other books or things to do?Tq
i like Herbert Shildt , i read through "The Complete Reference C++ Fourth Edition" it's $55 but if you're hard on money you can (cough...torrent download) for free ANY book you like.

EDIT 1: nevermind mind me , i didnt read your post carefully. Not sure which would be best for game programming.
Last edited on
I guess something about Direct X or Open GL? The truth is though you will find more than adequate resources here on the internet
You should read the C++ Primer. It's not specific to game programming, however you need some solid basics before you start with that. In theory, it would be possible to start learning C++ through game programming right away, however as far as I'm aware, there are no good beginner books in that area. It's not particularly surprising - highly competent C++ authors wouldn't want to artificially restrict their target audience by making game programming the main topic of their C++ book.

Better to stay away from any Herbert Schildt books - especially his C++ books are considered to be of rather poor quality.
closed account (1vRz3TCk)
Athar wrote:
You should read the C++ Primer. It's not specific to game programming, however you need some solid basics before you start with that.
+1
Better to stay away from any Herbert Schildt books - especially his C++ books are considered to be of rather poor quality.

Hmmm... when you say poor quality are you referring to the material he covered in his book? They are not comprehensive or simply erroneous ?