Which book should I read for a total beginner?

Pages: 12
i think I'll start with C++.com's tutorial first, it's short and simple.
I take it you've also checked your course's site for a reading list? And the syllabus for the first year?

(A quick google for "computer game degree reading list" and I found one degree which was using C# for the first year, only switching to C++ in year two. No idea how common this is.)
Last edited on
We used the text by GADDIS - that was about a year ago. It's massive but quite thorough,
and it takes you thru topics incrementally. One thing I noticed was that the first several
chapters were very "C"-like, with a lot of the concepts regarding OOP (the real "meat" of C++)only being introduced much later later.

Oh, yes. It is expensive. I paid about $130 for my copy. You can search for a copy on Amazon; it may be a bit cheaper there.
withouut going through the first 10 pages of c++ primer 4th edition i could tell i had to have some kind of prior programming background to get everything he is saying. good choice start with this tut first im going to read it though as i do have prior knowlage butfor the totall noob i would defend sams over primer
I couldn't find a reading list but I have to learn C programming in year 1, then C++ in year 2. So should I read C programming books first?
c++ primer may seem difficult because c++ primer plus was meant to be read before it and is a beginners book. read primer plus and then read primer.
The naming is so confusing. Usually when you have a word Plus we would assume it means more than one without Plus isn't it ? So going by logical reason, I would think read C++ Primer finish already want to know more go for C++ Primer Plus.

Unfortunately the author of the Plus name it as C++ Primer Plus which can confuse readers. I don't know who publish first but if say C++ Primer is first to be published than try not to name it as C++ Primer Plus unless you are also the same author of C++ Primer?