arrayas

hey i'm new to c++and am having a lot of trouble with this program my professor gave me. i really am not sure how i should start. this is the problem

A palindrome is a word or phrase that is the same forwards and backwards. For example
the word "radar" is a palindrome. Write a program that reads in a word from the keyboard
and determines if the word is a palindrome. The program does not need to determine if
the characters entered are actually a word. The word will be terminated by the value ".".
The "." is not part of the word and should not be looked at when determining the
palindrome. You should ignore case when comparing letters. The characters should be
read into a character array. The maximum word length is 20. Your program must use a
function called pal that takes a char array and an int size as parameters. The function
will return an int value of 1 if the array contains a palindrome and it will return a value
of 0 if it is not a palindrome. Your program should include a loop that lets the user repeat
the palindrome determination until the user says she or he is done.

Example Output:
Enter a word (. to end the word): radar.
The word "radar" is a palindrome.
Would you like to check another palindrome? (Y or N): Y
Enter a word (. to end the word): library.
How do you know if a word is a palindrome? Once you understand how you know, you can turn that into code.

This is what coding actually is. All the syntax of a language is just learning to speak; coding is the logical expression of problem solving.
Last edited on
well its a palindrome if its spelled the same way backward and forward. so i was thinking to use a for statement to reverse it and and if statement to check if they are equal, but that for some reason does'nt sound right to me.
That is a perfectly reasonable way to go about it. Now try to put it into code.
What about following these steps:

Get the char array size.