Help with Strings & Functions

I am still rather new to programming, so if you could keep your explanations as “English” as possible, I would appreciate it!

What I’m attempting to do with this program is using the function “studentInformation()” under the class “student” is as the functions name suggests, gather student information. When attempting to do this Visual Studio says, “Error: declaration is incompatible with “void student::studentInformation()” (declared at line 14). I’ve only just started on this program, and in the end I’m assuming I’m going to have to put all the information (First name, last name, A number, grade) into an array so I can use a search tool.

1. How can I use a string, int, and double in one function?

#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

class student
{
	string firstName;
	string lastName;
	int aNumber;
	double grade;

public:
	void studentInformation()
	{	
		cout << "--Student information--" << endl;
		cout << "First Name: " << endl;
		getline(cin,firstName);
		cout << "Last Name: " << endl;
		getline(cin,lastName);
		cout << "A-Number: A" << endl;
		cin >> aNumber;
		cout << "Grade: " << endl;
		cin >> grade;
	}
};

void student::studentInformation(string firstName2, string lastName2, int aNumber2, double grade2)
{
	firstName = firstName2;
	lastName = lastName2;
	aNumber = aNumber2;
	grade = grade2;
}

int main()
{

student studentInfo;
	studentInfo.studentInformation();

return 0;
}

Last edited on
well your biggest problem here is that you've declared your function student::studentInformation twice. Creating the class, with the function in it creates the function once. Then you created another function(void) outside of your class with the exact same name, and in the same place(memory wise) with all sorts of parameters.