Bool Function for prime number program

I am trying to get a bool function to work in my program, but in the warnings it says that what i put will always result to being true, and i'm not sure why. I'm sure it is an obvious thing, but I am very new to c++ programming. Any help would be appreciated. Here's the code I have so far:

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
using namespace std;
int prime = 0;
bool isPrime(int prime);

int main()
{
cout << "Please enter an integer and I will tell you if it is prime: " << endl;
cin >> prime;
if (isPrime)

cout << prime << " is a prime number. " << endl;

else
cout << prime << "is not a prime number. " << endl;
system ("pause");
return 0;
}
bool isPrime(int)
{

for ( int i = 0; i <= prime; i++)
{
if (( prime % i != 0) || ( i != 1) || (i != prime ))
{
return false;
}
else
return true;
}
}
I see you have problems with functions. A function knows nothing about the variables you use in main() or any other function. The idea is to pass the values you need in the parameter list: isPrime(prime). In the function definition you then manipulate those parameters.

Although choosing prime as a global is not a great idea (what if you want to test several numbers?), it can be made to work. The problem, I think, is that isPrime is written without ()s, so it is understood as the function itself, rather than the value it computes (a function pointer, you'll learn about those later). If you want to keep prime a global, another change to make is to remove int from declaration of isPrime, as you're not going to pass anything there and not going to use it.