Graphics

closed account (iNU7ko23)
So I'm now familiar with C++ concepts however I'm unsure how to start programming graphics. None of my books cover this; I don't know why! So which is the easiest that I should learn... DarkGDK, OpenGL or something else?
OpenGL is a little complex for beginner graphics. I'd say SFML/SDL/Allegro.

Now if you mean for something like making your own graphics library, then I'm not sure.
Hey Adpad,
Through research, it seems that Allegro is one of the easier ones that has to do with graphics and game programming. I am a beginner learning C++ but planned to learn some Allegro later on.
But check out this youtube channel, it should be helpful

http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL4E60D76619D0980F&feature=plcp
Hi,
I would personally recommend taking a look at SDL.

SDL is very strait forward, it's easy to learn, and requires little code to get a basic window up and running with a few sprites.

It also has some pretty cool secondary libraries for things like audio and networking.

Definitely give SDL a shot.

I also recommend SDL because it is easy to set up with openGL.

If you are going to be programming with openGL, you will have to figure out out to bring up a window in the operating system and do all the window management stuff such as resizing the window and moving it. There are some libraries such as QT and GLUT that will make this easier for you, but SDL's window management system is very strait-forward and allows you to do other stuff like play sounds.

SDL is really cool because it allows you to very easily (and cost effectively) set up a window and then link openGL into it so you can use openGL functions rather than SDL functions. So you can set up a simple framework with SDL, and then do all your 3D rendering in openGL with barely any additional code.

Thanks for your help. I've been trying to install allegro unsuccesfully so do you know any sources of how to install it? :)
Last edited on