pointer average program

I have to build a program using nothing but pointers to calculate the average of a random set of numbers inputted by the user. The pointers must be passed by reference as parameters for the getAverage() function and the function must return the reference of a value. I'm pretty new to pointers and don't fully understand their use, but this is my code that won't compile.
//

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

int * getAverage(int * tot, int * numbers);

int main(void)
{

int * b = new int();
    int * i = new int(0);
    int * sum= new int(0);

cout<<"Enter a series of positive numbers\nEntering a negative number will stop input."<<endl;
      do{
        cin>>*b;
          if(*b>0){
              *sum=*sum+*b;
              *i++;
          }
   } while(*b>0);

getAverage(*sum, *i);

return 0;

}

int * getAverage(int * tot, int * numbers){

int * average = new int( *tot/(*numbers));

return *average;

}

The pointer *i and the getAverage() function are the issues here. Any help would be appreciated.
getAverage(*sum, *i); This is passing in the dereferenced values of these pointers. Basically you're passing ints when it's expecting pointers to ints. Drop the dereference operator there.

Also, you have a lot of dynamically assigned memory here with no deletes. Shouldn't cause any errors, but it's bad practice to get into. Rule of thumb, there should be a delete for every new you use.
I dropped the dereference in the get average function, passing in (sum, i) and changed the function to:
int * getAverage(int * tot, int * numbers){

int * average = new int( *tot/(*numbers));

return average;

}

but now the function is returning the hex address of the integer.

Also, do you mind telling me more about deletes? My teacher never went over those.
Now you're returning the pointer, which is what you want I believe. If you want to output the value of the pointer, you'll need to dereference it in the calling function.