Arrays

There are so many topics on arrays and I've read up some of the articles and forum questions, but I just can't seem to understand it.

I have to create a program that will input a line from a file one at a time. Then get the highest/lowest number.
Meaning the file looks like this:
45 67 34 78 89
34 12 67 32 78
12 45 76 89 34

I'm trying to figure out how to read it line by line. In which I read one line, (45, 67, 34, 78, 89) Print out the highest/lowest number and then move on down the row.

I'm a complete beginner at this, so please be gentle with me.

You'd need a loop that reads the file line by line, does stuff, and moves on down the row:

#include <fstream>
#include <string>
#include <iostream>
int main()
{
    std::ifstream f("filename.txt"); // <- your filename here
    std::string line; // we'll store each line here
    while(getline(f, line)) // this is the loop that reads line by line
    {
        std::cout << line << '\n'; // do stuff here
    }
}

If you run this, you will see that it prints out the lines. Always test the code as you write it.

Now, let's see what should the "do stuff here" line be replaced with: you have your line, such as "45 67 34 78 89" stored in the variable "line". You want those characters to become numbers, so you need to convert line from string to stream, and read numbers from the stream:

// "do stuff here" becomes
    std::istringstream buf(line); // convert string to stream
    int n; // we'll store the integers here
    while(buf >> n)
    {
        std::cout << n << '\n'; 
    }
    std::cout << " done with the line! TODO: print min and max here\n";

again, compile and test to see that the numbers are printed. You will need an #include <sstream> at the beginning to use istringstream.

Now, you want min and max for each pass: you can remember the largest and the smallest integer seen in each loop... can you do that?