Defining/Declaring and Header Files/Source Files

Hi guys, I'm a new programmer that could use some help...

I've been reading everywhere that in general:
*each source file should have a matching header file
*the source file should #include the matching header file
*declare stuff in the header file
*define stuff in source file

Seems simple. I was playing around with it and I came upon a huge mental roadblock regarding declaring/defining variables. Here's my problem in pseudocode:

Scenario 1:
// header file test.h   
void test();  // declaring test() 

// source file test.cpp
#include "test.h"
void test() cout << "moo";  // defining test() 

This seems to work perfectly fine when I call test() in the main.cpp However, when I try this with variables:

Scenario 2 (doesn't work):
// header file test.h
int test;  // declaring test 

// source file test.cpp
#include "test.h"
test = 5;  // defining test 

It gives me an "expected constructor" error. Since I #include'd the header file, I thought test was already declared/constructed. After doing some reading, I found that in order to declare global variables, I have to have the extern prefix:

Scenario 3 (does work):
// header file test.h
extern int test;  // declaring test 

// source file test.cpp
#include "test.h"
int test = 5;  // defining test 

This only kind-of makes sense to me, since it looks like its declaring the variable twice, but ignoring it the first time. Can somebody explain to me why Scenario 2 doesn't work? I know its some kind of scope issue, but if I include the header file which has the declaration, then why can't I simply do test = 5?
Extern means that the variable test is found in another file. You need to do this because including a file is basically the same thing as pasting it where the #include is. Imagine:

int test;
test = 5;

int main()
{

}

test = 5 has absolutely no meaning, because it's not part of any code block. The only things you can have outside of a code block are declarations.