Namespace - regarding.

Hello there,

I am just learning Cpp. I am learning inheritance , I did a simple program.

It was basically creating a base class and a derived class. I used to normally write a normal base and derived class. But then, when I went through a site, I came through a very new concept. Namespace.

This is my program down there. I never used to type std::cout nor use using namespace std; ever before. I just initialize the headerfle(iostream) and then use cout or cin directly and I have got the output. Why is this new namespace concept?
And the below program, I am not able to get the output. I am getting errors.
I use turbo c++.
I am a beginner, please dont mind, i am naive. :)

2) It would be great if you could explain what return does. I sort of know return 0, it is basically returns 0 once the program is over. But what is return(height*width). what is that return?

#include <iostream>

using namespace std;

// Base class
class Shape
{
public:
void setWidth(int w)
{
width = w;
}
void setHeight(int h)
{
height = h;
}
protected:
int width;
int height;
};

// Derived class
class Rectangle: public Shape
{
public:
int getArea()
{
return (width * height);
}
};

int main(void)
{
Rectangle Rect;

Rect.setWidth(5);
Rect.setHeight(7);

// Print the area of the object.
cout << "Total area: " << Rect.getArea() << endl;

return 0;
}
return(width * height);
will return your area(multiplication of 5 * 7).

return 0 will terminate you main function and memory will be freed.
Could you put your code in code tags using the <> button on the right, much easier to read.

So what errors are you getting - can you post the compiler output?

return sends info back to where the function was called. In other words it is giving the answer to the question. The question is the function call getArea(). the function calculates the area, it is returned to the place the function was called (the cout statment). Cout prints it in a readable form.

Edit: Is this an error?