c++ n00b woes

hello as a newbie to C++ I was wondering and I know this gets debated alot what the big war between C++ and c is all about.

I have been googling this for ages and alot of the answers seem to be coming from non C++ programmers or programmers who migrated to c after deciding C++ was no good for them.

When I was at school I tried to learn C++ and found it very difficult. Now that im a little older I find it alot eaiser to understand.

I was reading through some very old threads wheras big names like Linus Torvalds and Richard Stallman criticize C++ and that seems to be talked alot about by blowhards everywhere.

I cant talk cos Im not a programmer but this is confusing to me how people say things like C++ isn't very portable across systems etc.

I also understand that c is used for specific reasons but now that i've decided that c++ is what I want to learn I dont get what major programs someone would write in C++.

Also people have said that C++ is not a true object orientated language and its just a object based language. What does that even mean cos the books that I have on C++ all say that it is a object orientated language.....

ditto I dont know what the F*** im on about but im trying to learn.

What will make me a good C++ programmer and what books would anyone here recommend.

What programs I will write in C++ I do not know and I know that is going to be the hardest thing as a hobbist programmer to figure out, one other question here is what kind of programs CAN I write in C++ that I couldn't write in c and vice versa.

I'm finding C++ very easy to understand at the moment so I wont be changing to another language anytime soon but any help is greatly appreciated.