I can't use strings

Pages: 12
I'm a real beginner and I'm just learning the very basics. So while I was studying from this website's documentation, I found out that my compiler(Turbo C++ v3.0, that is) doesn't support strings. So how can I use strings? Does it need a higher software version? One other question, I see that in the tutorial, it includes the libraries like this:
#include<conio>
but in my case I have to write it like this so that it works:
#include<conio.h>
why is it so?
I'd really appreciate your answer:)
So how can I use strings?

Upgrading to a compiler that isn't 50 years old would be a good start.

One other question, I see that in the tutorial, it includes the libraries like this:

Standard C++ headers do not have an extension, all other headers generally do.
Neither conio nor conio.h is a standard header, though.
Last edited on
I get your point. So, what compiler do you recommend? I don't have any special purposes(I mean like business, etc) I'm simply trying to learn a language to start with.
g++ is a safe choice on all platforms.
There's a variety of IDEs such as Code::Blocks that you can use it with.
So you don't recommend C++?
g++ is the GNU C++ compiler.
He said it was a safe choice, not necessarily a good one.

Of course, I am not going to say what he meant, but I would recommend c++ if for no other reason than that there are more sites that I have found dedicated to c++ than anything else (excepting java and HTML). The sheer volume of the tutorials makes it easier, in my humble opinion, to learn.
I know I shouldn't probably ask this here but if I choose C++, what version do you recommend? The latest software in Borland website is C++ Builder(clearly stating that they no longer support Turbo C). Do you think it's a good choice?
C++Builder is an excellent choice if you're looking to develop Windows GUI applications, but it isn't cheap.