Undeclared identifier.

Hello. I'm an absolute beginner at c++ and I could need some help with a problem of mine.
I made a little "game" so to speak and I'm trying to make a label that shows the user of this "game" a number everytime the user press a specific button.

I'm using Microsoft Visual c++ 2010 Express and the project is in "Windows Form".

private: System::Void Form1_Load(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e)
			 {
			int succeed = 0;
			label3->Text = Convert::ToString(succeed);	
			 }

private: System::Void pictureBox1_DoubleClick(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e)
		 {
			succeed=+1;
		 }

And this returns the error message " 'succeed' : Undeclared identifier" when I'm trying to run it.

Thank you for reading this and I would be grateful if you could please help me.
Last edited on
private: System::Void pictureBox1_DoubleClick(System::Object^  sender, System::EventArgs^  e)
		 {
			succeed=+1;
		 }

Inside a function, the following variables exist:

Any global variables.
Any variables passed into the function.
Any variables created inside the function.
If the function is a class function, any class variables of that class.

In the function above succeed is not a global function, was not passed into the function, was not created in the function, and the function is not a class function. So the variable succeed does not exist in the function.

In the other function, you have this:
int succeed = 0;
which creates the variable succeed within that function.

Also, this isn't C++. Looks like some kind of Microsoft .NET or managed language.

Edit: I am SO ninjar!
Last edited on
Probably this error message comes from line 10.

the variable succeed is not visible on line 10. It's scope is from line 2 to line 5. It's only visible on those lines.

Make it a member of the enclosing class.
Last edited on
You use variable succeed in function pictureBox1_DoubleClick

succeed=+1;

but it is not declared in this function.