Trying to make program for my daughter

Hi guys, brand new to the forum, and programming in general.
I just started learning how to use c++ this week, and wanted to make a console application to help my 5 year old with her sight words. basically what i wanted was to have output "Enter a sight word:" then have a list of her sight words to where she could enter any of them and either tell her YAY! or Try again. I'm too new at this to figure it out on my own, so I'm asking for some assistance on what i need to do. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks
I don't know what a "sight word" is, but I think you're asking for a program that shows a list of words, and then accepts input, and if the input matches one of the words, the output is YAY!, and if the input does not match, the output is "Try Again". Is that what you're asking?
right, thats what im looking to do, except i dont want her to see the list of words, she needs to spell them out. does that make sense?
btw, she has 10 sight words to date. she gets 5 new words every week, so i will need to be able to add them to the list.
Last edited on
You could add the words to a container, ask the user for an input, run a for loop, if the input matches any of the words in the container, output "YAY", if not, output "Try again!".
ok, makes sense. now as far as variables and declarations go, which ones would i use? Thanks guys!
Do you know how to use arrays, vectors or any other kind of containers ?
not quite there yet. i could research it, though. just needed a push in the right direction.
This should actually be fairly easy, with arrays I think. I work in the educational industry occasionally so I might actually put together a similar project. be back soon with a first round of it.
#include <iostream>
#include <vector>
#include <string>

int main()
{
    std::vector<std::string> wordList;

wordList.push_back("to"); // word 1
    wordList.push_back("he"); // word 2
    // continue adding words...