Absolute beginner

Hello gods of C++;

I am an absolute begginer to programming and I am taking a self help course at home. I'm using the book teach yourself c++ in 21 days < ha ha i'm at day 10 and it has already been a month.> So far i'm comfortable with my compiler and can code from the book easily. I am having problems with the creation of my own freestyle programs.

To start: I am writing a program that will print an output to the console screen a number of times when asked. I want the program to take inputtted characters and then print out the number of times requested. So far I can do this from the main body but not from keyboard input. What am I missing?

Please help.

Here is the code:
// Priactice program.cpp : Defines the entry point for the console application.
//This is a practice program

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
cout << "This is a practice program" << endl << endl;
int Myname = 0;
int Maxname;
cout << "How many times to write your name?: " ;
cin >> Maxname;
for (;;)
{
if ( Myname < Maxname)
{
cout << "michael" << endl;
Myname++;
}
else
break;
}
char response;
cin >> response;
return 0;
}

Last edited on
Okay, Okay, OOOOKay!!!

I figured out what I was doing wrong. But there are some details that I need to have cleared up. For instance, what if I needed to include spaces between characters?

I fixed this simple program by introducing <char> and initialized it to <Nam> and gave those parameters an argument set to [100] and it worked!!!! but when I introduced spaces in my name the program just falls through.

I need further insight. Please help!!!

Here is the new code;

// Priactice program.cpp : Defines the entry point for the console application.
//This is a practice program

#include "stdafx.h"
#include <iostream>
using namespace std;

int _tmain(int argc, _TCHAR* argv[])
{
cout << "This is a practice program" << endl << endl;
int Myname = 0;
int Maxname;
char Nam [100];