Noob at c++

Hey how's it goin fellas? I am taking a computer programming class at school and I am relatively new to c++. I understand the basics of it but some of it blows my mind. Right now I have two homework problems I need to do, but I am counting on figuring out one so help me do the other.

Basically I need to write a program using a while loop which reads a data file that I create (i got that part).Then the program prints the file contents to the screen (which will be 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10). Then it needs to print the sum of all the digits (55).

I didnt get very far

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main ()
{
string line;
ifstream open("data_file.txt");

do
{

}

}

after that im pretty much lost. the book is useless haha

any help would be greatly appreciated
Hm.... The book is not useless. Read all pages of it. And then read again. After, you will be able to write the code.
Personally I hate to write home works of others if they don't try.
I've read the chapter we are supposed to be on...and all the previous ones. there is nothing like this in the book, just vague answers to vague questions
Well since some people think I just want them to do my homework for me........when it clearly says I just want help........I THINK I figured out how to do the loop but im getting an error on the back arrows on my cout.

my object is file1 and the file I wanted opened is data_file

#include <iostream>
#include <fstream>
#include <cmath>
#include <cstdlib>

using namespace std;

int main ()
{
string line;
ifstream file1 ("data_file.txt");
if (file1.is_open())
{
while (file1.good() )
{
cout << line << " ";
}
file1.close();
}

}

any idea what it could be?

Anyone have any tips on doing the second part of this program in my OP?

After reading your topic .. yeah seemed like you were flaking and trying to get homework done easy from a forum.