Uintvar character input as hex to a decimal integer

Hi all. So I'm very new to C++ as I've been coding in Java for the length of my programming career and only just started on C++ recently. I've been tasked with creating a program that accepts input from the command-line and print results to the standard output. Each Uintvar that is input is assumed to be in hexadecimal and the output should display the decimal integer. An example would be

./a.out 8a5c 8102

which should print to the standard output the lines

8a5c: 1372
8102: 130

I've managed to wrap my head around how the conversion of a hexadecimal uintvar to a decimal but am unsure about how to write this in code. So far, my program reads input and converts it to the binary representation of the hexadecimal input. Now what I would like the program to do is divide the size of the input string by 8 to segment it into 8 bit binary figures. Knock the last bit off the string then do the base 128 conversion of each segment. This should give the decimal integer. Any ideas? Any help is greatly appreciated. Code below.

#include <iostream>  // Header for stream I/O.
#include <sstream>   // Header for string stream.
#include <cmath>
#include <cstdlib>

using namespace std;

string BinaryFromHex (string hex);

int main (int argc, char *argv[])
{
	for(int i = 1; i < argc; i++){
		cout << atoi(argv[i]) << ": ";
		string input = BinaryFromHex(argv[i]);
		cout << input << "\n";

}
	return 0;
}

string BinaryFromHex (string hex)
{
	string binary = "";
	for (int i = 0; i < (int)hex.length (); ++i){
		switch (hex [i]){
			case '0': binary.append ("0000");
				break;
			case '1': binary.append ("0001");

...all the other binary representations continue...
isn't 0x8A5C, a 35420 in dec, and 0x8102, a 33026 ?