Besides c++ and the api of my choice, what else should an up and coming game programmer be studying?

I am studying c++ and SDL but is there anything else I should be learning as a game programmer? All I ever read when coming into game programming was to study a programming language and an API until I eventually get over the "steep curve" that everyone talks about. Thanks.
Trigonometry and calculus.
Thanks. Will have to blow the dust off my old trig book!
I would learn OpenGL or DirectX too...
closed account (ozUkoG1T)