Functions

I have beginning c++ course at school. I just started learning about functions. I have a homework assignment and I'm conceptually confused about what to do. I have to create a couple of different functions for printing addresses.
For example;
I will have to read from a input file following this type of form. The first line is the print selection so,
John Smith
123 Main Street
Anywhere, MI. 99999-0000
Here is the kicker blank lines can occur between anything so from the example above maybe a blank line between the print selection and the name.
So I thought that I would start by writing just one function to do a specific job.
Example
PrintAddress()-prints out all three lines of an address with package formatting.
Question;If a function takes two parameters say like double x and double y. How on earth would I input something like a the name John smith and give back an address. Like I said we only had one lecture covering this.
Any conceptual clarity would be nice. Hopefully this makes sense.
Read address from file. Output address. Start by writing that code. Then worry about functions.
ok thx
OK I have began trying to write my functions. I have a problem.
I wrote one function to return an integer it works. I wrote another to return 3 lines , it works. My question is when I try to do both of them in main it does not work. If I comment one and run it it will work. If I comment the other and uncomment the first and run , it will work. Basically both functions work but they do not work together. I cannot run my program and the integer function displays then the other function for the strings. Does anyone have any ideas on what I might be doing wrong?
closed account (3qX21hU5)
could you paste the code of what you have so far? Would help us know more about it.
#include<iomanip>
#include<iostream>
#include <string>
#include <fstream>
using namespace std;
// Global constants

fstream fin("input.txt");