Float and Double

Hi Im also new to C++.

What is the difference in the following?

float number = 1.5;

float number = 1.5f;

double number = 1.5;

Are any of them the same? Does the first example default to a double because there is no suffix?
Last edited on
Floats have 8 significant figures of precision, while doubles have 16.

Does the first example default to a double because there is no suffix?

No, it's type is float.

I always use doubles, and would only use floats if I wasn't worried about the lesser precision and I had a million of them so memory space would be an issue.
I see. So does that mean you dont need to put a suffix f if you are using a float?

float number = 1.5; works? No need to put float number = 1.5f; ?
float number = 1.5;

is fine.

You would use the f in expressions with whole number, so the compiler doesn't think a number is an int:

answer = number * 10f; Edit: For this example the conversion to float is automatic anyway

I am inclined to always use 10.0 instead of 10f - however that is user preference.
Last edited on
I think I understand now. Thanks very much for your prompt answers!!
1.5 without f is always a double.

float number = 1.5;
number is a float and is initialized with the value of 1.5 converted into a float.

I am inclined to always use 10.0 instead of 10f - however that is user preference.

I think it's more to it than user preference. Floats has less precision so the expression could give you a less precise answer. The conversion from float to double is also an unnecessary cost. I would recommend not mixing float and double.
So if 1.5 without f always being a double, does that mean there is no difference between the following values? ie. They are both doubles:

float number = 1.5;

double number = 1.5;

Also why would you use these following strings?

float number = 1.5;
double number = 1.5f; 

Or would you never use it?
Last edited on
The difference is the type of the variable number.

float number = 1.5;