Help with a program reading integers from a .txt file

Hello everybody, I'm new with c++ and I need some help with some stuff, thanks a lot if you are able to!

I need help to write a program that processes the data a .txt file. It needs to
produce a report to an output file that would contain the total number of voter applications brought in by each team(teams 1-5) and the total number of voter applications brought in by all the teams combined.

this is my assignment and what I need help with is if in the .txt file the numbers are arranged like this
1 5
3 8
2 3
1 3
5 6
5 2
4 2
1 1
4 3
0 0

with the numbers in the left column are the teams 1-5 and the numbers on the right are the number of voter registrations they brought in. and 0 0 being the sentinal. I seem to be forgetting how to get the information from the .txt AND how to differentiate between the team and the number of votes that they brought in. Any help is very much appreciated as I am a complete noob.
Use an array to store the 5 teams and there totals.
I'm not to keen on using zero as a flag. Using something like -1 or -99 is a better idea because zero is used commonly as an initializer.

This might work:

ifstream inFile;
int team[5] = {0};  // I'm not sure if this syntax is correct
int teamNum = -1;
int teamVal = -1;

inFile >> teamNum >> teamVal;

while (inFile && (teamNum != 0 && teamVal != 0))
{
     if (1 >= teamNum <= 5)
        team[teamNum-1] += teamVal;  // -1 because arrays start at 0

inFile >> teamNum >> teamVal;
}

Last edited on
Just a few notes on IceThatJaw's example for clarification because you said you were a beginner:

In line 1, ifstream is probably an std::ifstream. You also need to open the file that you want to read from. You can do that on the same line e.g. std::ifstream inFile("file_name.txt");, or you can do it after initialization e.g. inFile.open("file_name.txt");.

Line 2 is correct, but int team[5] = {}; is enough.

Line 10 should be if (1 <= teamNum <= 5).