Introducing myself - A beginner, beginning.

Pages: 12
Hi everyone.

I thought it polite to introduce myself, before making posts. I couldn't find an "introduce yourself" thread anywhere, so I guess here is a good place? If not, feel free to move this and / or tell me off. :)

I have have decided to get back into programming, just for fun, and C++ seems a good choice. I have some programming experience from way back (Z80 Assembly), so I am not new to programming concepts.

As I am learning C++ from the "ground up", my goal is not to just learn C++, but also good coding practices, Including code / memory efficiency and easy to read commenting.

My Immidiate goal is to write code that can be compiled on any system without modification ( Console programs ). I know this will limit what I can do, for this goal, but the idea is again, to get good programming prctices.

The 3 Systems all my code should compile on are :

1)Windows - ( MS Visual C++ )
2)Linux - (Gcc)
3)Android - (C4Droid) - I do know that this is not native for Android so cant write "Apps" with it.

So far, I have clocked up a whole 8 or 9 hours coding in C++ (in total, EVER) and seems to be going ok.

If anyone can think of any BEGINNING goals, I should add, I would love to hear them.

Thank You for your time, and this seemingly awesome community,
and I hope to, one day, be a useful member.
I would like to post my learning experiences, as I go. Would I do this here in the forums, or make a blog site and link to it, so I don't fill your forum with "Junk". I'm not sure of you'r policies to linking to a blog site (No adverts, or anything, purely personal site), so let me know.

Any code I post, that is my own, anybody can use for any reason. If any is not my own, I will give full, unreserved credit for.

Thank You, again
Many Regards,
Dave
Hi Dave!

I'm also new around here (and new to c++) but I'd like to say welcome anyway! Best of luck in your programming endeavors! Perhaps we can compare notes some time.