number guessing issues

Hello.
I am fairly new to programming and I'm stuck with an assignment. I know there are many already done programms like this, but since it's for University I wanted to give it my own try.

We had to make a program that would guess a number between 1-100, doesn't matter how many tries. Idea is you had to tell the program if your number is higher or lower than it's guess. Well mine works for the first 3 rounds, then it goes completely bonkers. So yeah, I pretty much need somebody to tell me where/what I managed to mess up. Thanks. :)

#include <iostream>
#include <cstdlib>

using namespace std;

int main ()
	{

int vermutung = rand() % 100 + 1;  
	int antwort;
    int min = 1, max = 100;
	char x;
	bool guess;

cout << "Please think of a number between 1-100 and press R when you're ready." << endl;
    cin >> x;

do
	{
	    cout<<"My guess is: "<< vermutung << endl;
	    cout<<"The number is: 1(too low), 2(too high), 3(right)?" << endl;
	    cin>> antwort;
	    guess = false;

if (antwort == 1)                    //If answer is too low
	    {
                min=vermutung;
                vermutung=rand() % (max-min)+min;
        }

else if (antwort == 2)           //If answer is too high
	    {
	        max=vermutung;
	        vermutung=rand() % (max+min);
        }

else if (antwort == 3)
	    {
	        cout<<"I guessed the number!";
	        guess = true;
        }
        }while(!guess);

return 0;

}

I would put a continue statement after each set of if statements, that way you don't check each one after you have found the correct one.

i think this:

vermutung=rand() % (max-min)+min;

should be:

vermutung=rand() % (max-min)+1;

Several comments. You use different algorithms on lines 30 and 36 for the next guess. That doesn't make much sense. The next guess depends on the values of max and min, but does not depend on what was the previous guess. Therefore the algorithm should be the same in both cases.