Read in numbers and calculate

Hello guys, beginner here and i was wondering if i could get your guys' help on something im working on. Ive been trying to read in a number(and eventually a bunch of numbers) from a text file and calculate certain digits from that number, like the number will be 16 digits long and i want to multiply the 15 digit by 2. It reads in the number just fine but whenever i multiply it by 2 it won't work right. Help please.
Also i am using devc++.

Last edited on
You read in the entire number as a string. That's ok.
Then select a specific digit and assign it to a char variable. That's ok too.

But multiplying a character by 2 doesn't make sense. The number is stored probably in ASCII code, so that character '0' = 48 decimal, '1' = 49 and so on.

Thus, if you want to do any calculation, you first need to convert the character to an integer. A simple way is to do this:
int number = character - '0'; as long as you are sure that the character variable definitely contains a digit 0 to 9.
Last edited on
ahh that would explain the weird answers i have been getting.

Also I am assuming the splitting the int into two separate digits if it is greater than 9 no longer applies to that correct?

Here is what i am doing:

it seems to be working pretty well
Last edited on
I'm not quite sure what you mean about the int greater than 9.

If the source of the value was a single character in the file, it should result in an integer 0 to 9. The only case where it might be bigger than 9 is where the character was non-numeric (e.g. a letter of the alphabet, or punctuation etc).

Of course, if you multiply by 2, or do other calculations, you may end up with more than a single digit.
Last edited on
Also one last question i promise!