Best way to write a graphics decompressor?

Hey, ProgrammerGuy here. I'm pretty new to C++, but I've read a couple basic tutorials and done a little bit of programming.

But the main reason I started learning C++ was to make a graphics decompressor for an old video game...

I know it would require reading hex bytes from the game, as well as inserting hex bytes to the game. So how would I go about writing hex bytes to a certain position of the game and reading hex bytes from the game to an array?

Also, how would I go about deleting and inserting hex bytes using C++?

Basically, knowing the stuff I mentioned above, would make it easier for me to write the decompressor as I already know how the routine works in ASM. Even if you guys just link to tutorials, it will help.

The end program would basically take a compressed graphics file from a game and decompress it.
Last edited on
What sort of "Old" video game?
and just how old are you talking about?

Is it DOS? Is it PRE-DOS/ Post DOS? Is it Encrypted, and if so, then do you already the the required keys?

Have you considered streaming the output to a file for editing and re-working?

Do you have access to the source code?

Sure, you can insert bites into compiled code, but it ain't an easy task, as you're more likely to crash it than not. - Provided you can locate it's data store.

Maybe you might try to de-compile it and post it - (provided that that is allowed in this forum- chk with admin 1st) and then de-bugging THAT code wold be a lot easier.

Last edited on
Well, it's an old NES game really. It uses simple RLE compression.

Basically I need to be able to insert 16 00's after every line to decompress it, which would require being able to insert hex.

But I would also like to know how to read hex from a file, so I can compare it to another hex value.
You just need to open the file for input in binary mode.

The concept of hex here is just a convenience to make the data legible to humans.