Advice on how to get started on this project?!?!

I'm going to write a program that will prompt the user for the colors on a 4 band resistor and then calculate and cout the resistance and tolerance of that resistor. I need to eventually write this to read a 4 5 6 band resistors. However, I'm just going to attempt the 4 band for now. I really could use some advice on how to get started on this.

I've tried writing as much information down that I could on what I need to use in my code and have roughly started a flowchart but still have no idea how to begin implementing this into code. I'm a beginner and could really use some advice.

It would be nice to see the code first and understand it then build it my own way from the understanding of what I gathered. However, I cannot find an example. Therefore, does anyone have some advice on how I can get started? How many mains will I need? How many headers will I use? How many functions do I build? I know there are several ways to answer this. I'm just asking for alittle help to get me started this weekend. Thanks.

well, before you do ANY coding, make sure you have a "gameplan". Design a flowchart on paper and write a tech doc specifying how the program runs. Be INCREDIBLY anal about this, if you miss something your project can and will go sideways very quickly on you. After that, start simple. Build the main function (just to kick-start the project) then build your documented functions one at a time. And if you really want this sucker to be tougher than nails, do it in a test-driven environment. Where each new function is allowed to stay in your program after passing a "Trail by Fire" test. But we can explain that to you later if you want. You really just need to know how each and every aspect of your program needs to run and then don't compromise.

(hypothetical)