Annoying Brother!!!

Pages: 12
closed account (LN7oGNh0)
My brother installed this game he plays on my laptop and sometimes he plays for sooooooooooooooooooooo long! Im really sick of sometimes waiting an hour just to use my laptop so I really want to know how to block this. (I dont have antivirus and I cant afford it either.) I know how to set passwords and all that sort of stuff... but not directly on a program on my computer. Will this require windows programming? I have been learning this but Im only a beginner...

Any suggestions?
You could just hide your laptop or lock it up. ;-)

All major Operating Systems have the ability to restrict usage of the computer in many ways from simply needing a password to log on at all to just hiding some critical folders from prying eyes. This has nothing to do with C++ though so go learn security protocols for you OS. Its VERY simple to set a log-in password for your laptop. In Windows go to Help and look for user accounts and passwords...

closed account (o3hC5Di1)
Hi there,

Perhaps you could look into some parental control options:
http://www.google.be/search?q=windows%20parental%20control

If they work for parents, they should work for you too :)

Also, there are plenty of free antivirus programs out there, Comodo is one I know, but I believe ther'es also Avast, Panda, ... just have a look on google an you should get plenty of results. If I remember correctly Comodo has a feature called Defense+ which allows you to allow or disallow certain applications from starting. It's usually used to monitor suspicious activity, but I suppose it could be used for this purpose as well.

Hope that helps.

All the best,
NwN
Last edited on
I dont have antivirus and I cant afford it either.

http://www.microsoft.com/security/pc-security/mse.aspx
thanks for the quick replies! @cnoeval: I have got a password on my account, but my brother uses the account that my dad put there... Annoying dad as well. Anyway thanks!