Help with loops

Ok, total newb here --- loops are driving me crazy. I know the solution is probably very simple to my problem. Honestly, I'm trying to wrap my head around loops and having a difficult time --- it seemed so easy reading about them in the book and then I go to implement and... well... maybe I'm just getting old :)

Anyways, my code waits for your response to enter 1-4 as it should. Then, for some reason, even though you've typed "asdsad" (or whatever) it interprets that as "0" and goes into infinite loop for "Please enter a number for you character class selection". I'm thinking it should return to the top of the loop based on the continue command but cin>>response; apparently gets ignored after that.

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;
void MakeCharacter();

int main(){

MakeCharacter();
return 0;
}

void MakeCharacter(){
int response = 0;
cout<<"Which class do you want to be:"<<endl<<"1. Warrior"<<endl
<<"2. Thief"<<endl<<"3. Wizard"<<endl<<"4. Priest"<<endl<<endl<<"Selection: ";
while ((response <1)||(response>4)){
cin>>response;

if (response==0){
cout<<"Please enter a number for you character class selection";
continue;
}
if ((response<1)||(response>4)){
cout<<response<<" - is not a valid selection"<<endl;
continue;
}
}
}
Don't take my word as law. I barely know what I'm talking about.

I'm fairly certain the problem is that
cin>>response;
needs to go before
while((response<1||(response>4

The way you have it written, when the program reaches the 'while' line, the response variable hasn't been read from the command line yet, so the while loop is using the 0 value that you gave it when you declared "int response" to test for ((response<1)||(response>4)).

Edits begin here