Working with classes

So, im relatively new to programming, and I have a tutor that has given me an assignment based on our last lesson but I have run in to a problem with something that I dont understand based on the following code:

enum OBJECT_TYPE // Creation of a data type
{
	// Individual data types
	OT_ROOM,
	OT_TOOL,
	OT_PUZZLE,
	OT_NOUN,
	OT_VERB,
	OT_MAX_OBJECT_TYPE
};

class OBJECT_ID // Class to call when using an object from OBJECT_TYPE
{
public: // Seen and used by any outside source
	OBJECT_ID() // Default constructor - Called if nothing else can be
	{
		type_of_object = OT_MAX_OBJECT_TYPE; // Makes type_of_object (as in private) the value of OT_MAX_OBJECT_TYPE, or the max and illigitimate value
	}
	OBJECT_ID(OBJECT_TYPE intype) // Primary constructor - called when requested with a defining value from the enum
	{
		type_of_object = intype; // Assigns type_of_object the value sent to the class when it was called

}
	~OBJECT_ID(); // Destroys the object
private: // seen only by the class itself
	OBJECT_TYPE type_of_object; // Declares an enum value called type_of_object
};

class TOOL : public OBJECT_ID // A class that interacts with the OBJECT_ID class as its parent
{
public: // Seen and used by any outside source
	TOOL() : OBJECT_ID(OT_TOOL) // Default constructor called by OBJECT_ID with a value of OT_TOOL
	{

}
	~TOOL();
private: // seen by only the class itself 

What im TRYING to do is have it be possible for OBJECT_ID to identify for what enum value its been called for and run the appropriate class as such, but, I just realised (the next day after the lesson... lol) that I never asked how one class can point to running code from another?

TOOL() : OBJECT_ID(OT_TOOL) // Default constructor called by OBJECT_ID with a value of OT_TOOL 

as far as I know this line does what I commented it as, and if im not wrong then there needs to be another line of code to make this one happen?

thanks for the help!
AJ
Last edited on