Learning classes, can this code be simplified?

Hello everyone, I'm a fairly experienced programmer but learning c++ for the first time. I've done a fair amount of things in python and other high-level languages and have decided to move down to increase my capabilities and write more advanced programs.

I find c++ to be a bit challenging though, mostly because I have been spoiled with how easy it is to write things in Python and stuff just gets accepted.

My question is: Can this basic class be written in more effective ways? I figured it out on my own, now I want to learn how to improve. Thanks for help!

Do I really need to call void in my request_x?
Does it really need to return 0 (or null?)?

class aRect{
	int x, y;

public:
	void set_value(int X, int Y){
		x = X;
		y = Y;
	}
	int get_area(){
		int area = x*y;
		return area;
	}
	int request_x(void){
		int temp;
		cout << "Please write your x value: ";
		cin >> temp;
		x = temp;
		return 0;
	}
	int request_y(void){
		int temp;
		cout << "Please write your y value: ";
		cin >> temp;
		y = temp;
		return 0;
	}
};
Do I really need to call void in my request_x?

Not sure what you're asking here, but you don't need to specify void in the parameter listing if you don't want. It's implied if left empty.

Does it really need to return 0 (or null?)?

I think I see your issue now.

int request_x(void)
The int here is the return value. If it is anything but void, then you have to specify a return statement in the function. The void in between the parentheses is your parameter listing. Void is saying it takes no parameters, so you can just completely leave out void if you want. It's just preference.

Since your functions all just return 0 no matter what, you might as well change the type to be void and just get rid of the return statements all together.
area function:
you can write return (x*y) eventhough the area variable makes it easier to read imo

request functions: