Substitute for SŸSTEM("cls")

When I started programming in c++ I was told for the programm to look good I should use SYSTEM("cls"). So my question is, what's the replacement to this command. Thanks in advance.
cout << string(50,'\n') will do the trick.
OK, thanks for the answer. But isn´t there a more pretty way, like the user can´t role up and see what is already done.
Last edited on
You can use some library like PDCurses.
Ask yourself: do you really need to erase everything on screen?
If I had run some program and lost diff result I use in my current work, I'll probably remember to never use programs written by this programmer.
EDIT: And "cls: Command not found" which will pop up every time when I launch your program isn't making it look good :)

Also: http://www.cplusplus.com/forum/articles/11153/
Last edited on
I'll explain. I'm making a program wich in its start has a login, register and exit menu. Imagine you need to register, you don't want that after that it shows everything you have done. So you would want to clear the screen. And I for now all my projects are directed to windows only so my problem isn't about OS dependency, it's about the slowness and the security gap. I think there should be a way to do this without using the system() commands. Altough I'm not worried about OS dependecy it's very likely to become a problem in the future if try to expand my horizonts. And if I use PDCurses what does it do and how does it do it?
Then why are you using console? PDCurses looks like that:
http://www.projectpluto.com/win32a.htm

Alternatively you can learn WinAPI and make complete windows program.

Quiz question: How to make symbols which user enters to show up as asterisks? (For example you are asking user to enter password.)
#include<iostream>
#include<string>
#include<conio.h>
#include<stdlib.h>

(...)

char ch;
ch = _getch();
while (ch != 13){
string stuff;
stuff.push_back(ch);
cout << '*';
ch = _getch();
}

(...)