Lost on where to begin

Hey all,

It's been a long time since I studied C++ (going on 16 years or so) and so I've been looking over some books and refreshing my memory on the code, but there's something I want to do and I don't really know where to begin with it. When I was learning the code, we didn't study any way to bring graphics into the code but the program I'd like to create now will heavily involve this. I've printed out the tutorial from this site and I've been going over it so I'm hoping to find at least some of my answers in there but I thought I would ask a few here and get some input on where to go.

First let me talk about the type of program I'm trying to design. I'm hoping that anyone reading this is familiar with Star Trek (at least to some degree). What I want to do is create a bridge console simulator program that links multiple computers together allowing each console to influence the others as they would on the shows and movies. For example, if the engineering console shuts down the warp core, the helm console can't go to warp.

The ultimate goal is to be able to use this program with a touch screen so that the person using the simulator isn't pointing and clicking with a mouse or pressing a button on a keyboard to accomplish a task but actually using a console designed to look like something out of Star Trek.

I already know that, at my current level with C++, this is going to be next to impossible but I have a lot of spare time on my hands and I will be using it to study the language, slowly building the program over time.

What I'm looking for is help in finding resources to allow me to learn how to program this simulator. Books, websites, tutorial guides, et cetera would be greatly appreciated.

Sorry if this seemed dragged out but I wanted to make sure I included enough information.

Thanks.
I would start, writing the program without graphics. It sounds like that might be a major task, it probably would be for me.