Advice on a String Program?

I've never coded before, and I'm taking my first intro to C++ class.

I'm just going to admit that this is a homework question. I'm not asking for the solution, because I've already tried to create my own, but I would like some advice. I need to create this rocket: http://i46.tinypic.com/mucd0.png.

My program just says it's "1 Up-to-Date" instead of "1 Success" when I try to compile, and the console isn't displaying anything at all.

I'm too new to even proofread my own work or understand what this code should look like, so I may be totally off. I don't even know what errors to look for. Could someone please help me identify what might be causing the issue, or at least point me in the right direction?

#include <iostream>
#include <string>
using namespace std;

int main()  
{
	// To build a rocket!

// Assign values to the rocket perimeter objects.
	string rocketLeft('/');
	string rocketRight('\');
	string space1(' ');
	string space2(2, ' ');
	string space6(6, ' ');
	string rocketStraight('|');
	string screw('+');
	string bar(6, '-');

// To form the top and bottom of the rocket.
	string tip = rocketLeft + rocketRight + '\n' +
		     rocketLeft + space1 + rocketRight + '\n' +
		     rocketLeft + space2 + rocketRight;

// To form the horizontal part of the rocket.
	string seam = screw + bar + screw;

// To form the straight walls of the rocket.
	string wall = rocketStraight + space6 + rocketStraight + '\n' +
		      rocketStraight + space6 + rocketStraight;

// To form the middle of the rocket.
	string middle = seam + '\n' + wall + '\n' + seam + '\n' +
			wall + '\n' + seam + '\n' + wall;

// To display the rocket.
	string display = tip + '\n' +
                         middle + '\n' +
		         seam + '\n' +
			 tip; 

cout << display << endl;
	return 0;
} 

Thank you for any advice.
Last edited on