Creating a C++ tutorial website need help understanding some code

Ok so Im creating a c++ tutorial website, now your probably saying "why? thats what this site is" and you are correct BUT my website is being designed to help people understand the language in very simple and easy to understand language without using all the fancy computer talk so ANYONE who views it will be able to understand. It is designed to spoonfeed absolute noobs at C++. Now with that said, I need help with understanding some code,

#include <iostream>

I know that the # means that it is a directive to the pre processor to include iostream but how can i simplify that? a directive to the pre processor? thats the computer talk i was talking about I was wondering what its doing in plain english also can you explain the using namespace std; I never really looked to far into those.

oh and heres the site so far

https://sites.google.com/site/cplusplusforcompletebeginners/home/lesson-one---getting-set-up?previewAsViewer=1
Last edited on
Maybe you could make an analogy?

For instance, say the program is a page in a magazine, ready to be proofread and shipped for production. Now, say the compiler is the editor-in-chief and the pre-processor is a lowly editor.

The editor-in-chief, i.e. the compiler, is a busy person. They only want to see the page in its final form. They delegate the initial task of proofreading, scaling the images, picking the fonts, etc. to the editor.

Now, the editor looks over the page and gets to work. When complete, they hand off the page to the editor-in-chief.

The instructions in the program that begin with a '#' (pre-processor directives) are like the work that gets done by the editor at their desk behind the scenes. The program, when compiled, with all the pre-processor directives resolved, is like the page as seen by the editor in its final form.