Infinite Loop

Read the "before you post" instructions and expect many rude answers. No problem..yes I'm a beginner and this is part of a homework assignment. Also your jobs are safe as I do not want to become a programmer although I am excited learning what I have so far

My issue is when a space is included when prompted for Captains name the program goes into an infinite loop and I do not know why. Here is my code.

#include <iostream>
#include <iomanip>
#include <string>

using namespace std;

int main()
{

//Declare Constant Variables
const double COST_FUEL_POD = 125.50;
const double COST_CASE_AMMO = 17.20;
const double COST_JET_PACK = 99.00;
const double COST_TANK_OXY = 50.40;

cout<<"***************************";
cout<<"***************************"<<endl;
cout<<"Welcome to Space Travel Supplies. \n\n"<<endl;
// Variables to hold quatities of items ordered
int shipID = 0;
int numFuelpod;
int numOfAmmo;
int numJetpacks;
int numOxytanks;
//Declare variables that will hold $$ amounts of items
double fuelPodtotal;
double ammototal;
double jetPacktotal;
double oxyTanktotal;
double total_sales;
string captain_Name;

cout<<"Enter Spaceship ID or -999 to exit: ";
cin>>shipID;

//Use a do...while loop with if...statement to test the expression
do {
if (shipID != -999)
{
cout<<"Enter Captain's Name: ";
cin>>captain_Name;
cout<<"Enter Number of Fuel Pods: ";
cin>>numFuelpod;
cout<<"Enter number of Ammo Cases ";
cin>>numOfAmmo;
cout<<"Enter number of Jetpacks: ";
cin>>numJetpacks;
cout<<"Enter number of Oxygen Tanks: ";
cin>>numOxytanks;
cout<<endl;
cout<<endl;

cout<<left<<"Space Travel Company Sales Statement"<<endl;
cout<<"Spaceship ID Number "<<shipID<<endl;
cout<<"====================================================="<<endl;
cout<<endl;

//Calculations

fuelPodtotal = numFuelpod * COST_FUEL_POD;
ammototal = (numOfAmmo / 100) * COST_CASE_AMMO;
jetPacktotal = numJetpacks * COST_JET_PACK;
oxyTanktotal = numOxytanks * COST_TANK_OXY;